Abstract

Information on 'Quarantinable management area' in the first half of 2021

Gu Hyo-Jin, Kim Ju-Hong, Kim Gueum-Chan

Division of Quarantine Policy, Bureau of infectious Disease Emergency Preparedness and Response, Korea Disease Control and Prevention Agency (KDCA)

Worldwide, there are numerous communicable diseases which present a risk to public health and which may require isolation or quarantine to prevent outbreaks. These 'quarantinable diseases' include but are not limited to cholera, polio, plaque, yellow fever, avianin fluenza A, Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus (MERS-CoV), Ebola virus disease (EVD) and coronavirus disease (COVID-19). It is the responsibility of the Korea Disease Control and Prevention Agency (KDCA) and the Korea National Quarantine Office to prevent the inflow of infectious diseases. The aim of this report was to provide an overview and an analysis of changes (effective January 6th, 2021) to current quarantine management areas. The changes include thirteen cholera countries, one plague country, forty two yellow fever countries, one avian influenza A country, eleven MERS-CoV countries, nine polio countries, one EVD country, and the global pandemic, COVID-19. The KCDA and the Korea National Quarantine Office designate a contaminated area or a nearby contaminated area as a quarantine management area to block the inflow and spread of infectious diseases from overseas. Therefore, quarantine is enforced for individuals entering Korea from designated quarantine management areas. Quarantine management areas are assigned twice a year according to trends in overseas outbreaks, and/or are assigned in the event of a sudden outbreak of a quarantinable disease. Designation or cancellation of an area occurs after deliberation by the Quarantine Committee (Article 5, quarantine law).

Keywords: Quarantine infection, Quarantine management area, Quarantine

Table 1. Quarantinable management areas of (January 6, 2021)

Quarantinable diseases	Quarantinable management area		
	Second half of 2020	First half of 2021	Remarks
Cholera	(18) - (Asia, Middle East) Philippines, India, Bangladesh, Sudan, Yemen - (Africa) Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Somalia, Nigeria, Mozambique, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Cameroon, Tanzania, Burundi, Ethiopia, - (America) Haiti	(13) - (Asia, Middle East) India, Bangladesh, Yemen - (Africa) Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Somalia, Nigeria, Mozambique, Uganda, Cameroon, Burundi, Ethiopia, Benin	18→13 · (Designation) Benin · (Release) Philippines, Sudan, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Haiti
Polio	(8) - (Asia, Middle East) Pakistan, Afghanistan - (Africa) Nigeria, Niger, Somalia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Angola, Central African Republic	 (9) - (Asia, Middle East) Pakistan, Afghanistan - (Africa) Nigeria, Somalia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Angola, Central African Republic, Chad, Ivory Coast 	8→9 · (Designation) Chad, Ivory Coast · (Release) Niger
Palgue	(1)– (Africa) Democratic Republic of Congo	(1)- (Africa) Democratic Republic of Congo	-
Yellow Fever	 (42) - (Africa) 29 countries including Angola, Ethiopia, Kenya, Nigeria - (America) 13 countries including Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Peru 	 (42) - (Africa) 29 countries including Angola, Ethiopia, Kenya, Nigeria - (America) 13 countries including Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Peru 	-
Human infection with Avian influenza A	(1) - (Asia) China (2 districts: Guangdong, Hunan)	(1)- (Asia) China (2 districts: Guangdong, Hunan)	-
Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus	(11)- (Asia, Middle East) Saudi Arabia, UnitedArab Emirates, Oman, Qatar, Kuwait,Yemen, Bahrain, Jordan, Iran, Lebanon, Iraq	(11) - (Asia, Middle East) Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Oman, Qatar, Kuwait, Yemen, Bahrain, Jordan, Iran, Lebanon, Iraq	-
Ebola virus disease (EVD)	(1) - (Africa) Democratic Republic of Congo	(1)- (Africa) Democratic Republic of Congo	-
Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)	- Worldwide * Designated by the WHO until the pandemic designation		